login Forgotten password? Register

North East

On this page you will find information on the activities of the PMI North East Regional Group.  This includes those living and/or working in Cleveland, Derbyshire, Durham, Humberside, North Yorkshire, Northumberland, South Yorkshire, Tyne & Wear and West Yorkshire.  Meetings normally take place in Leeds.

Committee members

Chairman: Chris Tagg, Tel: 0113 394 3700 E-mail: Chris.Tagg@Barnett-Waddingham.co.uk

Vice Chairman: Louisa Calvert, Tel: 0113 818 7305  Email: louisa.calvert@firstactuarial.co.uk

Treasurer: Vikki Massarano, Tel: 0113 369 2525 Email: vikki.massarano@dlapiper.com

Secretary: Jane Briggs, Tel: 0113 284 7479 Email: jane.briggs@squirepb.com

Publicity Secretary: Mark Norris, Tel: 0113 261 7712 Email: mark.norris@willistowerswatson.com

Education Secretary: James Webster, Email: james.webster@thepensionstrust.org.uk

Events Representative: Ruth Bamforth  Email: ruth.bamforth@walkermorris.com

Events Representative: Gemma Hanley  Email: gemmahanley@eversheds.com

Events Representative: Richard Leach Email: richard.leach@bakertilly.co.uk

Events Representative: Andrea Mulrooney Email: andrea.mulrooney@rpmi.co.uk

Events Representative: Andrew Wilson  Email: Andrew.Wilson2@pinsentmasons.com

Events Representative: Paul Wilson Email: Paul.Wilson@xafinityconsulting.com

Sponsoring employers

The committee would like to thank the following employers for providing sponsorship to help support our activities:

  • Addleshaw Goddard
  • Barnett Waddingham
  • Bluefin
  • Coal Pension Trustees Services
  • DLA Piper
  • Dickinson Dees
  • DWF
  • Eversheds
  • First Actuarial
  • Mercer
  • Pinsent Masons
  • Pension & Benefit Services Ltd
  • RPMI
  • The Pensions Trust
  • Towers Watson
  • Sagar Wright
  • Squire Sanders
  • Xafinity

Benefits of sponsorship include free regional membership for employees and free entry for employees to our meetings and seminars.  If you are not currently a sponsoring employer but would like to become one, please contact any member of the committee.

Diary dates

The schedule of seminars and social events for 2016-17 is set out below, although some events are still in the planning stage. Details of the events will be added to this page shortly. Final details of each event will be published via email arounf four to six weeks prior to the event. Please contact Jane Briggs at jane.briggs@squirepb.com if you would like to be included on the email distribution list.

Forthcoming Seminars and social events 

Cyber Risk in Pension Schemes - to be held on 23 February 2017 at the offices of Walker Morris, speaker Sheila Pancholi of RSM.
Combating DC Threats – to be held on 23 March 2017 at the offices of and with speakers from Pinsent Masons.
Question Time – to be held on 27 April 2017 at the offices of Squire Patton Boggs – details TBC.
Legal Update – to be held on 8 June 2017 at the offices of Eversheds – details TBC.
Qualifications Update & AGM – to be held on 13 July 2017 at the offices of TPT Retirement Solutions, with Gareth Tancred from the PMI.

Forthcoming Social Events

Pub Quiz – to be held on 4 May at The Riverside.
Annual Dinner – to be held on 18 May at The Queens Hotel.

Education

PMI Students in the North East region are welcome to contact the Education Secretary, James Webster at james.webster@thepensionstrust.org.uk  with any questions they may have about modules, or to ask for advice about study/examination technique. Good luck with your studies!

Membership

If you are not currently a member of the PMI North East Group and are interested in joining contact Jane Briggs at jane.briggs@squiresanders.com

CPD

All Regional Group meetings and events qualify for CPD hours which you can use towards your PMI CPD requirement.  These would come under the 'Events/Seminars/Conferences' category and you can claim a maximum of 7 CPD hours for each based on your assessment of its value to you.