login Forgotten password? Register

North East

On this page you will find information on the activities of the PMI North East Regional Group.  This includes those living and/or working in Cleveland, Derbyshire, Durham, Humberside, North Yorkshire, Northumberland, South Yorkshire, Tyne & Wear and West Yorkshire.  Meetings normally take place in Leeds.

Committee members

Chairman: Chris Tagg, Tel: 0113 394 3700 Email: Chris.Tagg@Barnett-Waddingham.co.uk

Vice Chairman: Louisa Calvert, Tel: 0113 818 7305  Email: louisa.calvert@firstactuarial.co.uk

Treasurer: Vikki Massarano, Tel: 0113 467 8792 Email: vikki.massarano@dlapiper.com

Secretary: Jane Briggs, Tel: 0113 284 7479 Email: jane.briggs@squirepb.com

Publicity Secretary: Mark Norris, Tel: 0113 261 7712 Email: mark.norris@willistowerswatson.com

Events Representative: Ruth Bamforth  Email: ruth.bamforth@walkermorris.com

Events Representative: Gemma Hanley  Email: gemmahanley@eversheds.com

Events Representative: Richard Leach Email: richard.leach@bakertilly.co.uk

Events Representative:
 Andrea Mulrooney Email: andrea.mulrooney@rpmi.co.uk

Events Representative: Anna Smithson Email: anna.smithson@xafinityconsulting.com

Events Representative: James Webster Email: james.webster@thepensionstrust.org.uk 

Events Representative: Andrew Wilson  Email: Andrew.Wilson2@pinsentmasons.com


Sponsoring employers

The committee would like to thank the following employers for providing sponsorship to help support our activities:

  • Addleshaw Goddard
  • Aon Hewitt
  • Barnett Waddingham
  • First Actuarial
  • KPMG
  • RPMI
  • Squire Patton Boggs
  • Willis Towers Watson
  • Xafinity

Benefits of sponsorship include free regional membership for employees and free entry for employees to our meetings and seminars.  If you are not currently a sponsoring employer but would like to become one, please contact any member of the committee.

Diary dates

The schedule of seminars and social events for 2016-17 is set out below, although some events are still in the planning stage. Details of the events will be added to this page shortly. Final details of each event will be published via email arounf four to six weeks prior to the event. Please contact Jane Briggs at jane.briggs@squirepb.com if you would like to be included on the email distribution list.

Forthcoming seminars and social events 

 

Reduce Your Pension Costs – The PPF Levy Determination – to be held on 19 October 2017 at the offices of Barnett Waddingham, with speakers from Barnett Waddingham.
Fiduciary Management
– to be held on 16 November 2017 at the offices of Pinsent Masons with speaker Colin English of Russell Investments.
Flexible Benefits
– to be held on 18 January 2018 – details TBC.
GDPR
– to be held on 22 February 2018 at the offices of Eversheds, with speakers from Eversheds.
Topic TBC
– to be held on 22 March 2018 at the offices of Willis Towers Watson, with speakers from Willis Towers Watson.
Question Time
– to be held on 26 April 2018 at the offices of Squire Patton Boggs – details TBC.
Topic TBC
– to be held on 7 June 2018 at the offices of RSM, with speakers from First Actuarial.
Legal Update
– to be held on 12 July 2018 at the offices of Walker Morris, with speakers from Walker Morris.


Forthcoming Social Events

Pub Quiz – our annual quiz will take place at The White Cloth Gallery during March 2018 - details TBC

We are currently considering what other social events to hold in 2017/2018 and will confirm details here in due course.

Education

PMI Students in the North East region are welcome to contact James Webster at james.webster@thepensionstrust.org.uk with any questions they may have about modules, or to ask for advice about study/examination technique. Good luck with your studies!

Membership

If you are not currently a member of the PMI North East Group and are interested in joining contact Jane Briggs at jane.briggs@squiresanders.com

CPD

All Regional Group meetings and events qualify for CPD hours which you can use towards your PMI CPD requirement.  These would come under the 'Events/Seminars/Conferences' category and you can claim a maximum of 7 CPD hours for each based on your assessment of its value to you.