PMI Crest
Award in Pension Trusteeship
Level 3 Level 3

Award in Pension Trusteeship

The Award in Pension Trusteeship is a qualification for Trustees or those interested in Trusteeship, based on The Pensions Regulator’s indicative syllabus. It provides formal recognition of a Trustee’s knowledge and understanding (TKU) in line with the requirements of the Pensions Act 2004.

The APT is otherwise known as CPT unit 1.

From 2021, we will be holding 'Private Sittings of the APT (CPT unit 1) exams which will take place online only. If you would like to hold a 'private sitting' please contact James Cumine or Vanessa Jackson directly to enquire about availability. 

Private sittings can hold no less than 10 individuals and at least 4 weeks notice must be given so that we can try and hold the exam on your chosen date. 


Next online exam date: 28 September 2022 | Applications closed

Please read our policy here before making any bookings

Who is this course for?


Trustees or those interested in trusteeship.

Those wishing to become an Accredited Trustee.

Learning support


We recommend learners work through the e-learning programme of The Trustee toolkit, which has been developed by The Pensions Regulator to meet their Trustee Knowledge and Understanding (TKU) requirements.

Reading list

We provide a list which contains several items which will be of assistance to those preparing for these examinations, download it from Useful Resources below.

PMI Members are entitled to a 15% discount for core reading list item Spotlight on Pensions which is written by a past PMI president, Kevin LeGrand, and which is available on the Perspective platform with its unrivalled functionality.

Assessment method


This qualification is assessed by a 90 minute 60 question multiple choice exam paper.

The examination is marked as PASS or FAIL (and an indiction willl be given if you were within 5 marks of a PASS). We, as with other awarding bodies, do not offer a breakdown of marks, or individual feedback on scores.

Study time


95 hours

The qualification comprises a single compulsory unit.



Examination Entry (Non-Trustee Member) £465

Please note: To sit this qualification you must be an active trustee group member of the PMI, currently £165. The Trustee Group membership year runs from the 1 January to 31 December.

Examination Entry (Current Trustee Member) £300

Re-Sit Fee (Current Trustee Member) £300

Re-Sit Fee (Non-Trustee Member) £465