PMI Crest
Award in Pension Trusteeship
Level 3 Level 3

Award in Pension Trusteeship

The Award in Pension Trusteeship is a qualification for trustees, or those interested in trusteeship, based on the Pensions Regulator’s indicative syllabus. It provides formal recognition of a trustee’s knowledge and understanding (TKU) in line with the requirements of the Pensions Act 2004.


There are two public examinations per year; March and September.

Who is this course for?


Trustees or those interested in trusteeship.

Learning support


We recommend learners work through the e-learning programme of The Trustee toolkit, which has been developed by The Pensions Regulator to meet their Trustee Knowledge and Understanding (TKU) requirements.

Reading list

We provide a list which contains several items which will be of assistance to those preparing for these examinations, download it from Useful Resources below.

PMI Members are entitled to a 15% discount for core reading list item Spotlight on Pensions which is written by a past PMI president, Kevin LeGrand, and which is available on the Perspective platform with its unrivalled functionality.

Assessment method


This qualification is assessed by a 90 minute 60 question multiple choice exam paper.

The examination is marked as PASS or FAIL (and an indiction willl be given if you were within 5 marks of a PASS). We, as with other awarding bodies, do not offer a breakdown of marks, or individual feedback on scores.

Study time


60 hours

The qualification comprises a single compulsory unit.



Entry fee £300

Re-Sit fee £200

Supplementary Overseas Examination Fee £150

Please note: To sit this qualification, you will receive free Trustee membership for the current membership year. Trustee membership is renewed yearly on 1 January. If you enrol in November, the membership will be renewed for free on 1 January.