login Forgotten password? Register

Student Essay Competition

Entries for our second ITM student essay competition are now open!

  • Open to Student MembersAffiliate Student Members, or anyone registered to sit one of PMI's qualifications
  • Prize of £500 for the winning entry and £250 each for two runners up
  • The winning essay will be published in Pensions Aspects magazine and Professional Pensions. Runner up essays will be published on the Pensions Aspects website
  • Winners will be offered a complimentary ticket to our PensTech & Admin conference on 7 November, where will we hold a short prize giving ceremony
  • Entries close 11.59pm on 12 September 2019

How to enter

Entrants should write an essay of 1,200-1,500 words on the following topic:

Discuss how the pensions industry can learn from other sectors when designing and delivering pension dashboard services.

Entries should be submitted to the membership team by 11.59pm on 12 September 2019.

If you plan on submitting an entry, please register your name here.

Guidelines and judging criteria

Entries will be judged a panel of experts including: Lesley Carline – PMI President, Matt Dodds – Director, ITM, Jonathan Stapleton – Editor, Professional Pensions, Tim Middleton – PMI Technical Consultant and the director of the PMI Lifelong Learning Committee.

You can read the full marking criteria here


  • Pay particular attention to grammar, punctation and spelling
  • Avoid slang and colloquialisms
  • Define a term in full followed by any recognised abbreviation in brackets and use just the abbreviation thereafter e.g. Guaranteed Minimum Pension (GMP)
  • Ensure that your essay has a clear structure. There must be an introduction, a middle and an ending
  • Ensure that arguments are supported with strong evidence
  • Ensure that content remains relevant to the central theme
  • Don't be afraid to put across your personal opinion. We are looking for essays that make a strong argument, whether or not we agree with you. 

Previous winners

May 2019

Winner: Chris Burtenshaw

Runner up: Joanne Carr

Runner up: Jed Newton

Special mention: Zak Cuerden